The Department of Botany was established in N.N. Saikia College in 1975. It was the first Botany department in the entire Titabar region, established in N.N.Saikia College and Prof. A K Borah was its founder Head. In 1986, the department got affiliation to start B.Sc. course in Botany under Dibrugarh University. The Department of Botany has been in the forefront of teaching in Plant Sciences since its establishment in 1975. The original aim of providing quality education to the educationally underprivileged people of the Titabar area, been successfully fulfilled by the Department. The uniqueness of the Department essentially lies in the fact that within the Department’s faculty, there are experts and active researchers representing almost all areas of plant sciences. At present we have five faculty members with two laboratory bears.  We believe that in order to be effective, undergraduate teaching must be done by teachers who are also actively involved in research in their respective areas of specialization.  Besides the faculty members often delivered the popular scientific talk among the school children for the promotion of plant sciences. The Department, therefore, serves as a catalyst in the vital scientific and educational activities of upper Assam and has a commitment to continue its service to the nation. 

Year of Establishment

1970 as Biology  but  renamed as Botany on 1975 

Associate Professor


Assistant Professor


Number of Administrative Staff


Number of technical Staff


Total Book In Departmental Library


Course offered

B.Sc. (Major), B. Sc. (Pass)